Ombre, Hombre!

Image

I’m an old pro when it comes to hair color. A natural medium brunette, I’ve been darker, lighter, red, gold, caramel and even once slightly purple. Usually I prefer to be a kitchen beautician because salons frown upon eating sandwiches and dancing during the coloring process. No such restrictions in my bathroom!

If you have eyes, you know about the ombre trend. I love this look and couldn’t wait to try it. I recommend you book a consultation before any major changes. Colorists can explain the difference between a blunt foil treatment and a more subtle balayage, or hand-painted, process. After meeting with my hair stylist at Moshi Moshi salon in Chapel Hill, I began my journey to blonde ombre!

SnapChat to my ladyfriend Tori before my last night out as a bruno:

SnapChat to my ladyfriend Tori before my last night out as a bruno

Color for me always starts with visual inspiration. And what better site to troll than Pinterest?

These are the pics I showed my colorist during our consultation:

Pinspiration I showed my colorist during our consultation

Pinspiration I showed my colorist during our consultation

B-Day! As my colorist Jaime mixes lightener, I hyperventilate:

B-Day! As my colorist Jaime mixes lightener, I hyperventilate:

tumblr_m2ufnzhP4o1rnjgnpo1_500

I left the salon not feeling like my old self. I regretted it for a minute:

I left the salon not feeling like my old self. I regretted it for a minute:

And then I started feelin’ it and walked down Franklin Street like this:

tumblr_inline_mho9rwRatm1r7ekmd

And all the boys did this:

double-take

And since then it’s been like this:

Beyonce at the Super Bowl

Beyonce licks her finger at the Super Bowl

Beyonce dance gif

Until my parents saw me and asked why I forgot to color the top of my head.

That brought me down a notch like:

tumblr_lv9voeBgdU1r60vi2o1_500

But most days I still feel like this:

beyonce-gif-Favim.com-368487

Basically, ombre is my jam right now. Highly encourage it, especially if you have long wavy hair and appreciate a low-maintenance style. If you’re hesitant about making a drastic color change, do your research! Before I made the leap, I read this blog post called “Back to my Roots” by Cara of www.maskcara.com. She went from black to blonde without a ton of damage.

Whatever color you choose, make sure you feel Beyonce-hair-flip gorgeous:

beyonce-super-bowl-half-time-show-2

xoxo, Rahel

rahelgebremeskel.com

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Ombre, Hombre!

Leave a Reply

